A Jumping Off Point

Name: Lena

Major: International Relations

Class: 2015

Home State: Oregon

College: Mount Holyoke College

Malyszko/Mount Holyoke Photo

What were your main reasons for going to college?

To further my education, and to be able to expand my world view.

How much of an influence did your parents/peers/teachers have on
the schools you chose to apply to?

There was a small influence, but there was a rule that if I wanted to apply to any on the East Coast, I would have to apply to the same number on the West Coast.

Where else did you apply?

University of Oregon, University of San Francisco, University of Redlands, University of Denver, American University, Goucher College

What do you see as benefits of going to college?

Being able to meet influential people, either who are influential now, or they will be influential in the future.

What are some negatives of going to school?

I’m super far from my family, and I feel like this is a bit like high school all over again – all-girls high school, women’s college. IR is also a super time-consuming and stressful major, no matter what people say about it.

Did you consider a gap year? Why or why not?

I did, but I knew if I took one, I’d never make it back to school. I ended up taking one term off and going to Europe for school and to travel instead.

Do you think you would change anything about your choices regarding your education?

If I were to go back, I’d apply to a few more schools in the Midwest/Central region. Specifically in Chicago.

How do you think you will use your education later in life?

I plan on Law School and doing something with that in the future, other than
becoming a Lawyer, as I find that dull. Who knows though? It could totally
change.

Favorite band? That’s a toss-up. It’s Mumford and Sons, Maroon 5, or
Macklemore. I’m leaning towards Macklemore.

Leave a Reply

