A Great Place to Grow

Name: Abigail

Major: Mathematics

Class: 2015

Home State: New Hampshire

College: St. Lawrence University

Image

What were your main reasons for going to college?

The main reason I went to college was because that’s what you do after high school. Everyone I knew from growing up went to college, so I was going to, too. I was of course very excited to go to college, as I love learning and want to know everything there is to know about everything.

What do you see as benefits of going to college?

I think there are so many benefits of going to college! I think for the job world today, it is necessary to at least get an undergrad degree to be able to get a job you want and be able to live a lifestyle of your chosing.

What are some negatives of going to school?

It is hard to make money during these four years, as work-study jobs are difficult to find on campus and they don’t pay much anyways, but other than that, I can’t think of a single downfall! It’s a great way to mature, learn about yourself, and grow as an adult!

Did you consider a gap year? Why or why not?

I did not consider a gap year. As I said before, everyone I knew went straight to college, and as learning is all I had ever done since I was 5 years old, I wanted to continue learning in the traditional college setting.

Now that you’re in college, do you think you would change anything about your choices regarding your education?

Nothing at all. Although the college application process was filled with rejection, at least for me, I am so happy to have ended up at St. Lawrence and I love all of the opportunities I have had here! Whatever choices I have made to help me get here, I would never change.

How do you think you will use your education later in life?

I think I will look back on my education every day of my life. I feel like college isn’t just a time for learning in the classroom, but to learn outside, too, and the things I learn about myself and about interacting with others will be things I look back on for the rest of my life.

Favorite band?

Jamie Cullum, a British jazz musician!

Leave a Reply

