School is Interesting and Innovative and it doesn’t have to be Cool

Name: Max

Major: Performance and Classical Civilization

Class: 2016

College: Beloit College

Home State: Rhode Island

Image

What were your main reasons for going to college? 

I knew I was going to go to college since eigth grade. I was always academically-minded.

Where else did you apply besides Beloit?

I applied to schools with folklore and theater programs. I had a great English teach who created a huge list of colleges he thought would work for me.

What do you see as benefits of going to college?

It builds people up a lot and it’s a way to learn about what you’re interested in and gives you resources you can’t get at other places. It’s not necessary but beneficial to be surrounded by people in the same state of exploration that you are. Also, college forces you to confront people you wouldn’t confront otherwise.

What are some negatives of going to school?

College creates this artificial environment that is positive but doesn’t apply to a lot of the world outside school. One thing in particular about liberal arts schools is the PC culture. We change the way we speak to make things more inclusive but we’re part of an exclusive environment. At the end of the day you have to pay a lot of money to go to school.

Did you consider a gap year? Why or why not?

I was thinking of going to school ealy at Simon’s Rock. At my high school I met all my requirements the year before I graduated. But I ended up finding a lot to do–volunteering, theater, writing. I don’t know if I’m a fan of gap years. My friend took a gap year and did everything he said he was going to do but if you’re just going to take a year to party then don’t.

Now that you’re here at Beloit College, do you think you would change anything about your choices regarding your education?

I’m pretty satisfied. I’m meeting a lot of different people and I’m more social than I thought I would be. I’m not a fan of requirements. If they can trust us to do adult things then they should be able to trust us on what we can take and what we can’t. Requirements should reflect that people are individuals.

Favorite author?

William Blake and T.H. White

Leave a Reply

